Faculty

Jon Rice
Assistant Head of School and History Teacher
802.427.8017  |  jrice@burkemtnacademy.org 
B.A. University of New Hampshire, M.A. University of New Hampshire
Jon came to Burke in 2013 after 12 years at nearby St. Johnsbury Academy where he served as Social Studies Department Chair, head dorm parent, and Director of the Outing Club. He lives in St. Johnsbury with his wife, Jen, and son, Liam.

Tom Bojko
Director of College Counseling and Humanities Teacher
tbojko@burkemtnacademy.org

Beth Brodie
World Languages – Spanish and French
bbrodie@burkemtnacademy.org

David Chamberlain
History & English Teacher
802.427.8028  |  dchamberlain@burkemtnacademy.org
B.A. Providence College, M.A. University of New Hampshire
National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS), American Historical Association (AHA), Barringer Research Fellow at the International Institute for Jefferson Studies at Monticello
Prior to coming to Burke, Dave taught history for six years at Kennett High School in Conway, N.H. He completed graduate study in American History at the University of New Hampshire, which he attended on a James Madison Memorial Fellowship. He and his wife, Rachel, are dorm parents in Heib.

Francesca De Lorme
Art Teacher
802.427.8036  |  fdelorme@burkemtnacademy.org
B.A. University of California Santa Barbara, Post-Graduate Studies National University
Burke Area Chamber of Commerce, Kingdom Trails Landowner’s Group
Francesca has over 20 years experience with educational programs and the arts, including personal interest in mosaics, hot glass, jewelry, architecture, watercolors, textiles, photography, and graphic design. Her work can be viewed in galleries, residences, and businesses nationwide, and one of her pieces was selected for inclusion in the National Mosaic Exhibit. She lives in East Burke with her husband in a home built out of 60% recycled materials.

Elizabeth Duffy
Learning Specialist
802.427.8008  |  eduffy@burkemtnacademy.org

David Iverson
Science & Math Teacher, Race Secretary
802.427.8027  | diverson@burkemtnacademy.org
B.A. University of Rochester, M.S. Kansas State University
VARA Board of Directors, Vermont Alpine Officials Committee Chairperson
A lifelong Nordic skier, David has spent two decades working at ski academies. In addition to his teaching responsibilities, he runs the timing system at our races and was honored in 2005 as the VARA Official of the Year, and in 2014 as the VARA Volunteer of the Year. Born and raised in Syracuse, he now resides in East Burke.

Rebecca Young Ireland ’96
English Teacher
802.626.5607  | rireland@burkemtnacademy.org

John McKinnon
Science and Math Teacher
jmckinnon@burkemtnacademy.org

Ida Sargent ’06
Science and Math Teacher
isargent@burkemtnacademy.org